Juliet’s Answer: Review

29868606

(Image and Book Description from Goodreads)


Juliet’s Answer by Glenn Dixon

Book Description:

“When Glenn Dixon is spurned by love, he packs his bags for Verona, Italy. Once there, he volunteers to answer the thousands of letters that arrive addressed to Juliet—letters sent from lovelorn people all over the world to Juliet’s hometown; people who long to understand the mysteries of the human heart.Glenn’s journey takes him deep into the charming community of Verona, where he becomes involved in unraveling the truth behind Romeo and Juliet. Did these star-crossed lovers actually exist? Why have they remained at the forefront of hearts and minds for centuries? And what can they teach us about love?

When Glenn returns home to Canada and resumes his duties as an English teacher, he undertakes a lively reading of Romeo and Juliet with his students, engaging them in passions past and present. But in an intriguing reversal of fate and fortune, his students—along with an old friend—instruct the teacher on the true meaning of love, loss, and moving on. An enthralling tale of modern-day love steeped in the romantic traditions of eras past, this is a memoir that will warm your heart.”

Genre: NonFiction Travel Romance
Katerina’s Rating: ♥♥♥

Katerina’s Review: 

    I don’t usually read many memoirs, however when I came across Juliet’s Answer, I was immediately intrigued. I’ve watched the movie Letters to Juliet (and absolutely loved it), so of course when I saw that this book had a similar theme, I was really excited to read it. I absolutely loved the idea of the Secretaries of Juliet and was surprised and marvelled by the fact that they actual exist and answer all the letters written to “Juliet”. I actually googled “Juliet’s Club” and discovered that you can actually volunteer in Verona as a secretary and can help answer the thousands of letters that are received! 

    Okay, so while I really did enjoy the book, it failed to meet my expectations in the sense that I thought that it lacked a little bit of excitement, or a big climax. However,   the author was always super honest in his writing, which I must admit was extremely refreshing to read since he didn’t sugar-coat anything. He was cynical about love, in the same way that we all may be at some point I suppose. Yet, he wasn’t afraid to admit it. Ultimately, this book is about a professor and well, I guess just a regular man, really, trying to understand love and heartbreak. I think that that’s what was so real about it…the fact that he asked the questions that we all wonder sometimes. 

     I also loved the fact that throughout his memoir, I felt as though I was actually in Verona. The way that he described being there made me feel as though I was seeing this beautiful city for the first time too! Also, if any of you are interested…here is the link to the “Juliet’s Club” website: http://www.julietclub.com/en/    (I definitely think that you should at least check it out ha ha).

Katerina’s Favorite Quote:

“Maybe … what you need to do is love yourself first. Then, I guess, others can follow your example.”

    To be honest, I really loved this quote because I think that it holds a lot of truth to it. This book was definitely about a lot more than love…it was about self-discovery and in a way I think that we can only fully love another after we learn to love ourselves. If we do, then we can influence those around us to do the same and perhaps that love will be reciprocated (in various forms). It is true that love can create, destroy and heal. But I think that love can also inspire. Maybe that’s something that we should all keep in mind… 

One thought on “Juliet’s Answer: Review

  1. Laura Dunbar says:

    Katerina,
    I enjoyed reading your review of Juliet’s Answer, which made me want to do what a good review should make its reader want to do: read the book!
    Keep writing!

    Best,
    Laura

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

